Institute of Biochemistry and Technical Biochemistry

Managing Director: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hauer

The Institute of Biochemistry und Technical Biochemistry combines the departments Biochemistry, Technical Biochemistry and Food Chemistry.

> Biochemistry

Prof. Dr. Albert Jeltsch

All life is based on chemical reactions. Biochemistry studies the molecular processes in living systems e.g. metabolism, production of energy, storage and processing of information, and regulation of all these activities. Another important aim is to resolve the structure and function of biomolecules and their interplay. Biochemistry is fundamental for all fields of molecular life sciences reaching from genetics and biotechnology to biomedicine.

> Technical Biochemistry

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hauer

The department of Technical Biochemistry is convinced that catalysis that utilizes microorganisms as well as isolated enzymes has a considerable influence on the synthesis of novel attractive products by developing greener manufacturing processes. This can only be achieved through a close collaboration between scientists from different fields. This is visible in the department of Technical Biochemistry, which thrives from the special power of interdisciplinary and internationality within our research projects. The exploit of scientific knowledge as well as the expertise to design novel biocatalysts, the opportunities of technological changes and the creation of chemistry-based enzyme engineering are central to our approach.

> Food Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Jens Brockmeyer

The analytic with mass spectrometry plays an important role in the field of Food Chemistry. The department of Food Chemistry focusses on the characterisation of food allergens and their degradation in the gastrointestinal digestion. Another research topic is the development of mass spectrometric methods for the authenticity control of marine, animal-based and plant-based foods.

 

Information about our research and teaching can be found on the individual websites.

Institut für Biochemie und Technische Biochemie

Geschäftsführender Direktor: Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hauer

Das Institut für Biochemie und Technische Biochemie besteht aus den Abteilungen Biochemie, Technische Biochemie und Lebensmittelchemie.

> Biochemie

Prof. Dr. Albert Jeltsch

Die Abteilung für Biochemie studiert die molekularen Prozesse in lebenden Systemen wie den Stoffwechsel, die Gewinnung von Energie, die Speicherung und Verarbeitung von Information und die Regulation all dieser Abläufe. Sie erforscht die Struktur, die Funktion und das Zusammenspiel der an diesen Prozessen beteiligten Biomoleküle. Die Forschung ist in verschiedenen Disziplinen der molekularen Lebenswissenschaften angesiedelt, von der molekularen Epigenetik bis hin zur Synthetischen Biologie und Biotechnologie.

> Technische Biochemie

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Hauer

Die Abteilung Technische Biochemie ist überzeugt, dass die Verwendung von Mikroorganismen ebenso wie die Verwendung von isolierten Enzymen einen signifikanten Einfluss auf die Synthese von neuen Produkten hat, insbesondere unter dem Aspekt umweltfreundlicher Produktionsprozesse. Dieses Ziel kann nur durch eine enge Kollaboration zwischen Wissenschaftlern verschiedener Disziplinen erreicht werden. Das wird in der Abteilung Technische Biochemie erkennbar, die durch Interdisziplinarität und Internationalität in unseren Projekten getrieben wird. Das Nutzen von wissenschaftlichem Knowhow sowie Expertise im Design von neuen biologische Katalysatoren, die Möglichkeiten des technischen Wandels und die Anwendung von Chemie basiertem Enzym Engineering sind für uns zentral.

> Lebensmittelchemie

Prof. Dr. Jens Brockmeyer

Die massenspektrometrische Analytik spielt in der Lebensmittelchemie eine bedeutende Rolle. Die Abteilung der Lebensmittelchemie befasst sich mit der Charakterisierung von Lebensmittelallergenen sowie deren Abbau im gastrointenstinalen Verdau. Des Weiteren werden Methoden zur Authentizitätsprüfung von marinen, tierischen und pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln entwickelt.

Informationen über unsere Forschung und Lehre finden Sie auf den entsprechenden individuellen Abteilungsseiten.